Skip Navigation
Fri Dec 02, 2016
Army OneSource
Army OneSource
Army OneSource
Commander's Page Online Training
Volunteer Tools Total Army Strong
My AOS Page Services Locator
Full Website
This site may not be optimized
for a mobile browsing experience.
Please don't show me this again:

2003 - Ms. Ana Maria Castello-Lopes Despault, Schofield Barracks Volunteer

Ms. Ana Maria Castello-Lopes Despault

Emma Marie Baird Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service

2003 - Ms. Ana Maria Castello-Lopes Despault, Schofield Barracks Volunteer

Ms. Ana Maria Castello-Lopes Despault, Schofield Barracks volunteer, has contributed over 4,000 hours of service to ACS in the last twelve years. While stationed in the Netherlands in the early 1990s, Ms. Despault served as the Editor of the ACS Volunteer monthly newsletter, writing articles and arranging publication and distribution. In addition, she led new military families on orientation walking tours of Dutch towns and cities, familiarizing them with the history, culture, and transportation of the area.

Since 1993, Ms. Despault has provided volunteer service in various ACS programs in Hawaii. Having former experience as a newsletter editor, she quickly assumed this role in her new community. In addition, Ms. Despault served as the ACS Newcomer Spouse briefer for two years, setting the weekly agenda and providing information on ACS programs, schools, recreational activities, and Hawaiian culture and history. She also enjoyed introducing new arrivals to Hawaii as the ACS Newcomer Aloha Tour escort and narrator. Ms. Despault was active in the ACS Relocation Program, serving as a counselor and assisting the manager with various projects. During the Christmas holiday season, she served as the special events coordinator for the ACS Christmas Dinner Program Gold Tournament.

Over the years, Ms. Despault has received many volunteer awards, including the ACS Hawaii Outstanding Volunteer of the Year, Installation Volunteer of Merit, two Commander's Awards for Public Service, and the Non-Commissioned Officers Association Award of Excellence.